empathy home last fm facebook myspace twitter juno trackitdown soundcloud discogs



RITJ_2010Maddix presents: Rumble in the Jungle 2010.

2009 Rumble in the Jungle DJ competition winner Maddix has shown us his highly technical skills live; now you will have the chance to hear for yourselves what had the competition judges so worked up.

Rumble in the Jungle Mixed by Maddix features a mix of 24 of the hottest tracks to have come from New Zealand producers over the last year as well as a host of exclusive tracks from both well established and up and coming artists.

The CD is available in stores now along with digital versions of 7 Exclusive Rumble in the Jungle tracks, only available on this album. The digital release is available now from the following online stores: www.junodownload.com, www.addictech.com, www.dogsonacid.com and www.trackitdown.net.

The Tracklist is as follows (click links for track samples):

1: Concord Dawn and Psidream and Pacific – Bloody Fives [NIghtfall]
2: Flirt with Dirt – Beyond the Rise [Empathy]
3: Black Planet – Someone Like You [Focuz]
4: Borderline – The Great Risk [Empathy]
5: Double_Negative – Vegas (Johnny Hooves Remix) [Empathy]
6: Organikismness – Its a free world
7: Black Planet – Is this really real [Empathy]
8: Trei – Morning Glory (Trisector Remix) [Empathy]
9: Cern – Timeslip [Samurai]
10: Trei feat Teknik – Sleepless [Samurai]
11: Bulletproof and Mindscape – Darktimes (State of Mind Remix) [Cyanide]
12: The Upbeats and Noisia – Creep Out [Non Vogue]
13: Nasty Genius – Quench [Ammunition]
14: K-lab ft Analog MC – Wrecked (Imprintz & Kloe Remix) [Empathy]
15: Dose – Brain Drain [M-Atome]
16: White Papoo and Double_Negative – Vision (Agent Alvin Remix) [Empathy]
17: Chaotic Pulse and Perceptual Chaos – Submission
18: Fractured Noise – Relaxing Smoke of Crack
19: Eddy Crusher feat. Lightness – The Scientist [Empathy]
20: Undertow – Mirage
21: Johnny Hooves – To Need
22: Menace – You Tell me
23: Jayji – Whispered
24: HSD – AMC [Apex]

The CD is be available in good stores nationwide now and orders can be made through Samurai Distribution.


Empathy Recordings in association with Bassdrop.co.nz are pleased to announce the release of Rumble in the Jungle 09, mixed by 2008 champion DJ Import. Part of Import’s prize pack was the opportunity to record his mix of the finest selection of Drum and Bass & Dubstep tracks from top local and international producers.

Ex-Wellingtonian Christchurch lad DJ Import (aka John Chea) has honed his mixing talents over many years through his passion for all things drum n bass. First place position in the 2008 Rumble in the Jungle battle was something of a natural progression for him.

The 2008 final proved to be an exciting show of slick mixing from many competitors resulting in a tough decision for the judges. In the end, Import’s experience, skill, track selection and ability to keep cool under pressure saw him take the championship in style.

Recorded and mastered by the empathy team the ‘Rumble in the Jungle / Import Mix’ is the premium live set from NZ’s best. Featuring stunning tracks by State of Mind, Concord Dawn, Phace, Mayhem, Agent Alvin, Trei, Dose, The Upbeats, Optimas Gryme and many more.

A snapshot of NZ’s vibrant breakbeat scene at the moment, we are confident you will rate this mix now and for years to come. Available instore in all good stockists early march.

For information on distribution contact Samurai Distribution via their website: http://www.samurai-distribution.com/

20.Jun.2007 Tommy Ill – Toast & Teakettles – in stores!

Tommy Ill Raps Best

Empathy is crazy excited to present Toast & Tea Kettles, the debut ep from Tommy Ill.

Tommy Ill brings to the table all that is good about hiphop: honesty, freshness and a sense of humour. You’re more likely to find him busting his live thing to a group of indie rockers than at a hiphop battle. It’s a style and attitude more akin to Dark Tower or Tourettes than the South Auckland sound.

The ep tops off a massive year for Tommy; winning the Dawnraid Remix Comp, supporting super group So So Modern and being featured in Back2Basics magazine. The five track release will be in stores mid December. You best check it.


Comments Off on Tommy Ill – Toast & Teakettles – in stores!